Book online

Welcome to the ancient land of the Romans…

spend an unforgettable day discovering the Canigou and its treasures .

Take a mystery tour and discover the richness of Romanesque Art …, You can make a pilgrimage to two abbeys, From the foothills of Canigou, “the Holy Mountain” the emblem of Catalan country.

  • Saint Martin du Canigou was built in XIth century high up on rocky mountainside to protect it from invasions. This decade celebrates the abbey’s 1000 year anniversary. Today the abbey is home to the “Community of the Beautitudes”. You can feel the very soul of the Abbey as you go along the aisles of the cloistered galleries to XIth century chapel.
  • Beyond the majestic bell towers and classical Roman arches stands the Abbey of  Saint Michel de Cuxa famed for having part of its’ cloister on display in the Metropolitan Museum in New York.

www.stmartinducanigou.org       www.cuxa.org

And also …
Best known for its Romanesque sculptures, the Cloître d’Elne  are also home to many Gothic sculptures. The cloisters are a historical monument dating back to 1840.
The church at Arles-sur-Tech was consecrated in 1046, although it was still not finished at this stage. Much work was carried out in the early part of XIIth century which led to a new consecration in 1157.

 

Along the route of Cathar Castles …

Just a short trip from Casa9 Hotel

A mysterious and exciting, experience – Cathar country……

During the XIIth century,a new kind of Christian religion developed in the south of France different from that of Catholicism: Catharism spread throughout the whole of the Occitaine as the region was known at the time.
Although Catharism was eradicated by Papal decree and a twenty year civil war, its spirit of tolerance, freedom and open mindedness has remained within the Languedoc culture, leaving its mark on the region …
Today, there are few traces left of this history. Castles, abbeys and museums across Cathar country have become memorials to this struggle. Over the subsequent centuries, the appearance of these monuments has changed, but their history remains a reminder of the tragedy of the Middle Ages.

The city of Carcassone, 127 km from the Casa9 Hotel is situated on a rocky spur overlooking the river Aude. Carcassonne, a UNESCO World Heritage site, is the most well-known and best conserved fortressed town in France.
Having been saved from demolition the city became an immense restoration project , between 1844 and 1911, entrusted by the French government to the architect, Eugène Viollet le Duc. Explore the alleys of the lively old town and visit the XIIth century chateau surrounded by the town’s towering ramparts. In the evening the lights of the city provide a magnificent spectacle against the backdrop of the landscape. At the heart of the black mountain, northwest of Carcassonne the terraces of the Château de Saissac sit against a landscape framed by the Pyrenean mountains.

Cathar Country is a historical region in the south of France.
Today, old Cathar castle ruins still stand proudly molded into the surrounding mountains. Discover four hidden gems in the region, all less than an hour from Casa9 Hotel.

Located in the High Corbières, Peyrepertuse sits at 800 meters altitude in the midst of scrubland overlooking the small village of Duilhac. From its highest point, the nearby Quéribus, castle can be seen situated some 5 km away.
In Cathar country, in the landscape of sweet smelling scrub, contrasting with the ordered vineyards of Haut Fitou, the Château of Aguilar stands proud, resting majestically on rock overlooks the plain of Tuchan.
South-west of Narbonne, at the end of a rocky valley in the Corbieres, stands a hidden magnificant Cistercian settlement. The Abbey of Fontfroide dates back to the XIth century and sits snuggly into the classic Mediterranean landscape dominated by cypress, pine and boxwood.

www.payscathare.org

In the footsteps of prehistoric man …

Tautavel is one of the highlights of prehistoric times which has seen international fame thanks to its distinguished ancestor, Tautavel Man.
Opened in 1992, the new Museum of Tautavel, European Prehistoric Research Centre, has been powerful in bringing science concerned with archeology and in particular the quaternary period in prehistoric times to the public eye.

With more than 1500 m2 of exhibition galleries , over 22 rooms, the Museum of Prehistoric Times introduces Tautavel Man, the oldest man found on French soil (-450,000 years).
The Museum presents its prehistoric archaeological collections in a modern way that makes our distant past easy to understand for everyone.
Thanks to faithful reconstructions of prehistoric scenes, you will dive into the heart of the Tautavel valley and make a fabulous journey among its men, animals and landscapes.
There is an authentic reconstruction of the Arago Cave (the place where Tautavel man was discovered) where you can experience this ancestor’s habitat.

www.tautavel.culture.gouv.fr      www.tautavel.com

Réservez maintenant

Bienvenue en terre romane …

pour une journée inoubliable à la conquête du Canigou et de ses trésors…

Partez à la découverte d’un voyage mystérieux à travers les merveilles de l’Art Roman…
Au pied du Canigou « Montagne sacrée » et emblème de cette terre catalane, deux Abbayes dont la visite se mérite comme un pèlerinage :

    • Saint Martin du Canigou planté sur un piton rocheux à l’abri des invasions du XIème siècle va fêter cette décennie les mille ans de son existence. Bien vivante cette abbaye renferme la communauté « des béatitudes ». L’âme des lieux se ressent en parcourant les galeries du cloître, jusqu’à son église du XIème siècle qui offre une diversité de ses chapiteaux et de ses nefs.
    • Au-delà de la majesté de son clocher et de ses arcs romans classiques, l’Abbay de Saint Michel de Cuxa doit aussi sa renommée au fait qu’une partie du cloître se trouve au Metropolitan Museum de New York.

www.stmartinducanigou.or www.cuxa.org

Mais aussi…
Surtout connu pour sa sculpture romane le Cloître d’Elne abrite également de nombreuses sculptures gothiques. Le cloître d’Elne est classé monument historique depuis 1840.
L’église d’Arles-sur-Tech fut consacrée en 1046, bien qu’elle ne fût pas encore achevée. De nombreux travaux dans l’abbatiale menés au début du 12è siècle conduisirent à une nouvelle consécration en 1157.

Vers les chemins des châteaux cathares…

A quelques dizaines de kilomètres de votre hôtel Casa9

Mystérieuse et passionnante, laissez vous guider en terre cathare…
Au XIIème siècle s’est développée dans le sud de la France une religion chrétienne différente du catholicisme : le catharisme qui s’est propagé dans toute l’Occitanie.
Bien que le catharisme fût éradiqué, il est un des symboles de la tolérance, de la liberté et de l’ouverture d’esprit de la culture occitane. Il a laissé son empreinte a donné son identité à ce territoire…
Aujourd’hui, il ne reste que très peu de vestiges de cette histoire. Les châteaux, abbayes et musées du Pays Cathare sont devenus les symboles de ce combat. Les siècles passants, l’aspect de ces monuments a beaucoup évolué mais leur histoire reste à jamais attachée à la tragédie de l’époque médiévale.

. A 127 km de votre hôtel Casa9, la Citée de Carcassonne occupe un éperon rocheux qui domine le cours du fleuve de l’Aude. Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco, la Cité de Carcassonne constitue le modèle de ville fortifiée le plus connu et le mieux préservé de France. Sauvée de la démolition la Cité fera l’objet, entre 1844 et 1911, d’un immense chantier de restauration confié par l’Etat français à l’architecte Eugène Viollet le Duc. Vous vous promènerez dans les ruelles vivantes de la vieille ville et visiterez son château du XIIème siècle entouré de remparts massifs. Le soir la ville illuminée offre un spectacle grandiose en relief de l’arrière pays.
. Au cœur de la montagne noire, au nord-ouest de Carcassonne le Château de Saissac étage ses terrasses devant un paysage exceptionnel barré à l’horizon par la chaîne des Pyrénées.

. Le Pays Cathare est un territoire historique du sud de la France.
Aujourd’hui, les ruines des vieux châteaux Cathares demeurent fièrement debout comme des extensions des montagnes alentours. A moins d’une heure de votre hôtel Casa9, sur les routes odorantes, découvrez quatre fleurons de ce territoire surprenant.
Ancré dans les reliefs des Hautes Corbières, Peyrepertuse émerge à 800 mètres d’altitude au milieu des garrigues et surplombe le petit village de Duilhac. Du haut du promontoire, la vue embrasse le château voisin de Quéribus, distant d’environ 5 km.
C’est en pays cathare, dans un paysage de garrigue odorante qui contraste avec l’aspect ordonné du vignoble Haut Fitou, que se dresse le Château d’Aguilar. Posé sur la roche telle une couronne, il surplombe la plaine de Tuchan.
Au sud-ouest de Narbonne, c’est dans un vallon rocailleux des Corbières que se cache un somptueux ensemble cistercien, en fond de vallée. L’abbaye de Fontfroide dont les origines remontent au XIème siècle y est nichée au cœur d’un paysage typiquement méditerranéen où dominent le cyprès, le pin et le buis.
www.payscathare.org

« Sur le traces de l’homme préhistorique »

Tautavel est l’un des hauts lieux de la Préhistoire qui a connu une renommée internationale grâce à son illustre ancêtre, l’Homme de Tautavel.
Inauguré en 1992, le nouveau Musée de Tautavel, Centre Européen de Préhistoire, est un formidable outil au service de la vulgarisation des sciences rattachées à l’archéologie et particulièrement à la préhistoire sur les périodes du quaternaire méditerranéen.

Avec plus de 1500 m2 de galeries d’exposition et à travers 22 salles, le Musée de Préhistoire vous invite à la rencontre de l’Homme de Tautavel, le plus vieil homme retrouvé sur le sol français (-450 000 ans).
Le Musée de préhistoire présente ses collections archéologiques exceptionnelles avec des moyens de muséographie modernes pour que ce passé lointain devienne compréhensible à tous les publics.
Grâce à des reconstitutions fidèles de scènes de la Préhistoire, vous plongez au cœur de la vallée de Tautavel et faites un fabuleux voyage parmi les hommes, les animaux et les paysages.
Une reconstitution grandeur nature de la Caune de l’Arago (lieu de découverte de l’homme de Tautavel) permet de s’immerger dans l’habitat authentique de cet ancêtre.
www.tautavel.culture.gouv.fr www.tautavel.com